My 2012: Snowbiking

The training plan called for a 60 minute Recovery session at 60% with 4 x 30 second sprints.  Unenthused by the prospect of another session on the 18th Century spin bike, I decided to tackle the snow and combine my training with a commute to a meeting.  So I defrosted my mountain bike, put on my thermals and ski gloves and pedalled of into the snow.

I kept the gear low so that I could spin yesterdays pain out of my legs, and also to reduce my chances of sliding out on the snow.  Obviously as I did not want to fall and hurt myself, but also because I was carrying my laptop in my backpack.  So no sprints for me today, but I did have a couple of short ‘hills’ to climb which I used to replace the sprints.

Summary – 2 x 20 minutes ish rides, each about 6km

Yes the training plan did ask for another 20 minutes of riding, but I’m letting myself off the hook since its only the first week back in training…  Week 2 begins tomorrow and I’m looking forward to see what it brings.

This entry was posted in Bike, Training, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My 2012: Snowbiking

  1. AndrewGills says:

    Wow! Snow riding looks hard core!!! Is it difficult to balance in the snow? Or is it not as slippery as it sounds? (sorry, only been to snow 4 times in my entire life)

  2. stew195 says:

    Hey Andrew – it looks more hardcore than it actually is, especially when on a mountain bike with sturdy tires and big treads. Balancing is no different, other than being super careful on corners as its so easy to slide out. For a little more adventure it could be done on a road bike with skinny baldy tires… but not by me!

Leave a comment